See the list of the 2015-16 MPHD Graduates

 

Sloan Minority Ph.D. Program (MPHD)

The MPHD Program offers substantial scholarships and other forms of support to underrepresented minority students who are matriculated for a doctoral degree in engineering, the physical and natural sciences, or mathematics at a limited number of partner universities. Students must self-identify as African-American, Hispanic, or American Indian/Alaska Native, and be U.S. citizens.

Prospective Sloan Scholars at UCEM Institutions

The following institutions have been designated as Sloan University Centers for Exemplary Mentoring (UCEM): Cornell University; Georgia Institute of Technology; Massachusetts Institute of Technology; The Pennsylvania State University; University of California, San Diego; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, University of Iowa, and University of South Florida, and have been awarded funds. All questions about the possibility and process by which prospective students may be considered to become Sloan Scholars and receive scholarship and other forms of support should be directed to the point(s) of contact at these University Centers. The table below provides contact information and the fields that are supported at each institution.

 

UCEM Schools & Disciplines


The following University Centers of Exemplary Mentoring are currently funded by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.


UCEM

Program Director

Title

Eligible Fields of Study

Email

Cornell Univ Logo

Dr. Mark Lewis

Associate Dean for Engineering Diversity Programs

Engineering

Agricultural & Life Sciences

mark.lewis@cornell.edu

Jami P. Joyner Director, Diversity Programs in Engineering jami.joyner@cornell.edu

Georgia Tech Logo

Dr. Stephen M. Ruffin

Professor, School of Aerospace Engineering

Engineering

GTSloan@coe.gatech.edu

Massachusetts Institute of Technology Logo

Dr. Leslie A. Kolodziejski Professor of Electrical Engineering

Biological Engineering

Chemical Engineering

Electrical Engineering & Computer Science

Mechanical Engineering

leskolo@mit.edu

Gloria Anglon

Assistant Director of Diversity Initiatives and MSRP

ganglon@mit.edu

Penn State Logo

Dr. Fred S. Cannon

Professor, Environmental Engineering

Science

Engineering

Agricultural Sciences

Earth & Mineral Sciences

Information Sciences and Technology

Human Development

Intercollege Graduate Degree Programs

fcannon@engr.psu.edu

Dr. Stephanie D. Preston Senior Director
Office of Graduate Educational Equity Programs
sdp163@psu.edu

Georgia Tech Logo

Dr. Kim Barrett

Dean, Graduate Division

Jacobs School of Engineering

The Graduate Division

Division of Physical Sciences

graduatedean@ucsd.edu

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Logo

Dr. Wojtek Chodzko-Zajko

Dean of Graduate College

College of Engineering

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (Physical and Mathematical Sciences)

wojtek@illinois.edu
Dr. Ellen Wang Althaus Director, Sloan UCEM at Illinois The Graduate School sloan-ucem@illinois.edu

Univ of Iowa logo

Dr. Phil Kutzko

Professor, Department of Mathematics

STEM fields

philip-kutzko@uiowa.edu

Dr. Colleen Mitchell Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics colleen-mitchell@uiowa.edu

Univ of South Florida

Dr. Jose Zayas-Castro

Associate Dean for Research, College of Engineering

Engineering


Marine Sciences

josezaya@usf.edu

Mr. Bernard Batson Director, Diversity Programs
College of Engineering
bbatson@usf.edu

 

Programs of Exemplary Mentoring

The Foundation has approved grants to certain disciplines at ten universities to catalyze programs to increase activity and success in the recruitment and retention of underrepresented minority doctoral students. The Sloan Foundation does not award funds to these institutions for scholarships to individual students. Funding provides for various forms of general programmatic support. To inquire about the programs and activities in Sloan-supported departments at a particular campus, see the table below.

PEM

Program Director

Title

Email

ASU logo

Dr. Carlos Castillo-Chavez

Director, Mathematical, Computational and Modeling Sciences Center

ccchavez@asu.edu

Michigan State University Logo

Dr. Timothy Grotjohn

Chairperson and Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

grotjohn@egr.msu.edu

Purdue Univ Logo

Dr. Dwight E. Lewis

Director, Multicultural Programs, Graduate School

delewis@purdue.edu

Taxas A&M University Logo

Dr. Kevin Heinz

Asst. Provost, Graduate and Professional Studies

kmheinz@tamu.edu

Dr. David Reed Professor and Associate Dean for Graduate Programs and Faculty Development, Department of Horticultural Sciences
dwreed@tamu.edu

University of Arizona Logo

Dr. John Koshel

Associate Dean for Academic Programs,
Professor of Optical Sciences

jkoshel@optics.arizona.edu

Univ of Maryland Logo

Dr. Isabel K. Lloyd Associate Professor, Materials Science & Engineering

illoyd@umd.edu

University of Michigan Logo

Dr. Cagliyan Kurdak Director, Applied Physics

kurdak@umich.edu

University of Puerto Rico Mayaguez Logo

Dr. Rodolfo Romanach Professor, Chemistry rodolfoj.romanach@upr.edu

University of Texas at Austin

Dr. Jennifer Brodbelt Professor, Department of Chemistry

jbrodbelt@cm.utexas.edu

Univ of Texas at San Antonio

Dr. Edwin J. Barea-Rodriguez Chair, Department of Biology edwin.barea@utsa.edu

 

Can Other Universities Become Part of the Sloan MPHD Program?

The Sloan Minority Ph.D. Program is not accepting new unsolicited applications to participate at this time.

 

Forms

Below are the forms for current Sloan MPHD scholars whose awards began in 2012-13 and prior years.

MPHD Payment/ Professional Travel Request
MPHD Academic Report
Graduate Contact Sheet

Below are the forms for current Sloan UCEM scholars whose awards began in 2013-14 and later years.

UCEM Spending Plan
UCEM Academic Report
UCEM Expenditure Report
Graduate Contact Sheet